Waiting out a cyclone

480A2876 You may remember several weeks ago I posted a blog detailing some of the consequences of Cyclone Oswald as it crossed the coast back in January 2013 You may remember several weeks ago I posted a blog detailing some of the consequences of Cyclone Oswald as it crossed the coast back in January 2013- 3 Days away (Australia Day long weekend). This morning as I sit back on the boat I listen to the wind whistle through the rigging and the beating of rain squalls drumming on the deck their is a air of steely determination in the cabin that I will not let history repeat itself.
People often ask me if I am scared of being so exposed to the elements and the truth is, as times like this yes. it can strike the fear our insignificance into the soul, but mostly it is more just a deep respect for mother nature. As much as she can be breathtakingly beautiful and awesomely magnificent she can also with the same power, strike out and wipe us away without a second thought. Yet, at the same time, nature provides us with ways and means of dealing with her malevolence.
A half day sail away from my position is a perfectly protected little anchorage, perfectly suited to ride out
. This morning as I sit on the boat I listen to the wind whistle through the rigging and the beating of rain squalls drumming on the deck, there is an air of steely determination in the cabin that I will not let history repeat itself.
People often ask me if I am scared of being so exposed to the elements and the truth is, at times like this yes. It can strike the fear of our insignificance into the soul, but mostly it is more just a deep respect for mother nature. As much as she can be breathtakingly beautiful and awesomely magnificent she can also with the same power, strike out and wipe us away without a second thought. Yet, at the same time, nature provides us with ways and means of dealing with her malevolence.
A half day sail away from my position is a perfectly protected little anchorage, ably suited to ride out Cyclone Marcia bearing down on my location and due to cross the coast sometime tomorrow. Ideally I would have liked to have been there yesterday but one can only take so much time off work and so despite the journey being a little wetter than ideal I can arrive in plenty of time to ride out the worst of it. Time to weigh anchor and find my new home for a few days!

Leave a Reply

